Yankee CAP Citizen Reps Announced

The 6 “citizen representatives” have been chosen for the Vermont Yankee Decommissioning Community Advisory Panel (CAP). Per the AP:

Gov. Peter Shumlin has appointed Kate O’Connor, of Brattleboro, and Martin Langeveld, of Vernon.

Sen. President Pro-Tempore John Campbell has appointed James P. Matteau of Westminster and James M. Tonkovich of Wilder.

And House Speaker Shap Smith has appointed David L. Deen and Derrik Jordan, both of Putney. …

The first meeting will be held on September 25 in Brattleboro.

Haven’t heard who has been appointed to represent the Emergency Planning Zone towns in NH and Mass. – one rep from each state will be named. In addition, the Town of Vernon will send a rep, as will Windham Regional Commission, IBEW, 4 state agency reps, one each from VT Senate & House, 2 from VT Yankee.

Read (very little) more about it here: www.burlingtonfreepress.com/ and here: http://vtdigger.org/  A description of the Panel’s purpose can be found on the VT Dept. of Public Service website here: http://publicservice.vermont.gov/topics/electric/nuclear

This entry was posted in Decommissioning, Legal. Bookmark the permalink.